top of page
  • Hunter Ohmann

What is Marine Science?

Updated: Jul 13, 2023



In August of 2021, I began my journey into Marine Science (finally!). I knew wholeheartedly that studying our environment and learning all I could about it and eventually aiding in its continuation and preservation was something I wanted for myself. What I didn't know going into my program at UofSC was everything that was included in the umbrella term "Marine Science". Marine Science tends to include: Oceanography, Marine Ecology, Marine Conservation, Marine Policy, and more.


Terms to Know:

  1. Oceanography: applies chemistry, geology, meteorology, and biology, to the study of the ocean.

  2. Marine Ecology: the scientific study of marine-life habitats, populations, and interactions among organisms and the surrounding environment including their abiotic and biotic factors.

  3. Marine Conservation: the protection of marine species and ecosystems in oceans and seas.

  4. Marine Policy: an academic field in which approaches from social science disciplines are applied to problems arising out of the human use of the oceans (and sometimes anthropogenic effects).

So, why is the ocean so important to study? The oceans regulate climate, supply food, and energy, and support a number of cultures. The oceans make up over 70% of the Earth's surface and provide a habitat for thousands of species. Do you like your shrimp? You should be more interested in the ocean. Researching the oceans and the organisms that inhabit them is critical for the continuation of life on Earth. One of my favorite organisms is plankton. They are at the top of the ocean food web, meaning, without them, ocean life would cease to exist. Why do humans need plankton? Plankton are responsible for creating about 70% of our oxygen while trees create about 30%. Not only are we cutting down about 900 million trees per year (roughly 2.47 million per day), which limits our supply of oxygen, but we are causing climate change to happen, which makes the oceans warmer and have a lower pH (more acidic, meaning it eats away at the shells of marine organisms). We are burning the candle at both ends and at some point, it will give. Nature has a way of rectifying itself. I will forever love the quote said by Jeff Goldblum in Jurassic Park, "Nature uh... finds a way". It will, and it always does. Through the years, animals have adapted to the environment and have had to in order to survive. Humans prevent adaptation from happening in our species through the creation of medicine, for example. Our bodies will not have a way to learn to adapt to not succumb to a disease in the future because we can take a pill. Man can build dams, walls, and fences, but we cannot prevent nature from taking its course. Every day there are tornadoes, wildfires, monsoons, and flooding- these are nature's way of telling us we aren't in charge, no matter how much we think we are. Studying the ocean allows for the preservation of it.


Studying Marine Science allows you to focus on many interests when in school. Most in the field pursue graduate degrees, but some may not need them (working in research or academia versus working at an aquarium, for example). Once you know what you want to pursue, this can help you determine if a graduate degree is necessary. Below you will find various focus areas in Marine Science, some organizations that do great work, and some skills that are helpful to have if you want to pursue it for yourself.


Focus Areas for Those Interested in Marine Science:

  1. Animal Physiology

  2. Aquaculture

  3. Conservation Genetics

  4. Deep-Sea Biology

  5. Ecology

  6. Energy

  7. Fisheries

  8. Geospatial Ecology

  9. Marine Protected Areas

  10. Ocean Governance

  11. Wildlife Conservation

  12. Chemistry

  13. Climate Science

  14. Economics

  15. Environmental Science

  16. Natural Science

  17. Ocean Engineering

Some Professional Organizations That Work with Marine Scientists:

Helpful Skills to Have for Marine Science:

  1. Communication

  2. Teamwork

  3. Laboratory

  4. Information Technology (may include using GIS, R, Python)

  5. Observation

  6. Research

  7. Writing

  8. Mathematics

In my first year of Marine Science undergraduate work, I have learned that you need to be able to communicate well and be willing to work as a part of a team. In the past, I worked many jobs where communication was not as necessary and it was you against the world, but in science, it is vital to make connections where you can. I currently work as part of a right whale lab in which I answer to an advisor who is prominent in the field and has her PhD. She also taught one of my classes last semester and is teaching another this semester. Quite frankly, I would give that woman one of my kidneys. Making connections while in school can only help you in the future. I work with other graduate and undergraduate students who are all pursuing different things, but we all need similar skills. This semester I am taking a Statistics class and a graduate-level R programming class and both will be a lot of work, but I know I can count on others in the field to help me if I need it. Being able to write is critical if you want to work in research. Not only will you need to complete a graduate degree that may include a dissertation, but you will hopefully go on to do beautiful and crucial research, which will need to be written about. And finally, math. While it isn't my strong suit, I want to love it and it love me back. In the Biology track I have chosen to do with my school, I only need a Modeling class, Statistics, and Calculus for the sciences. I am taking only one Calculus, one Physics class, but I will need to take Organic Chemistry, which is also a lot of math. If you are interested in pursuing a degree in Marine Science or STEM, be prepared to thoroughly challenge yourself in every way possible. Am I nervous about taking a graduate-level programming class? Yes. Am I enthralled by it simultaneously? YES! I am learning things that will actually help me in my career, which means I am one step closer.



I want to end this with something less daunting than discussing college-level math. For those of you who may not ever want to pursue a degree like mine but love the water, you can become a citizen scientist. I'll eventually write on this, but in the meantime, here are five things you can be doing for the ocean:

  1. When you go grocery shopping, take your own reusable bag // When you eat out, bring your own straw and containers.

  2. Do not let your car idle unnecessarily. It may seem like a minute here and a minute there is not hurting anyone, but it adds up. You and every other person at your workplace eating lunch in their car to avoid others are contributing to carbon and other harmful elements in the atmosphere, which the ocean absorbs.

  3. When you are not using certain devices at home, unplug them. The U.S. Department of Energy estimates that this energy being drawn when these devices go unused accounts for 75% of the power consumed by electronics in the average home.

  4. Use only natural cleaning products. What you currently use goes down the drain and can eventually end up in the ocean and waterways. You can make your own cleaning solutions.

  5. Ask questions about your food. Overfishing is very real. The Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch is trying to educate the public on which seafood is best for the environment if you wish to consume them.


Every day you have the ability to make a change, and even if it feels small, you are making a difference.


Go make waves!

-Hunter

bottom of page